Common Sayings in Greece (in Greek)

Seemingly Greek

I am teaching myself trying to learn Greek on my own, and it is going at a very slow pace. I have made progress since being here, and I would say that I can understand and speak at a low level in everyday conversation. My kids (who I am teaching English) usually giggle a bit when I try to translate the directions for a game into Greek so they can understand. Most of the kids are very helpful in correcting me, but there are a few smart-allecs that mock me a bit. Overall, even with being mocked, I think teaching has helped me learn a few new words each day or so and I continue to be amazed at the Greek expressions or sayings that just don’t make sense in English. We call it Greek-lish, speaking English but with the Greek way of thinking.

Some common greetings and responses:

Ti…

View original post 552 more words

About oneoflokis

Ah! That'd be telling! But very Lokean.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

